Every Day is not Blogworthy

DSCF8210There are days when nothing happens.  When there are no whale watches,  no festivals, no protests.  There are days when the cactus in the walkway isn’t blooming, when I haven’t been lucky enough to capture an interesting bird on my camera.

There are days when I’m not in a class, not at the gym, not painting.

Sometimes, in those quiet gaps that are full of possibilities, I find my best days.

They are totally uninteresting to blog about.  Who wants to read, “today I stayed indoors, read, played a few video games, and caught up on some TV shows on Neflix”?

Today I’m faced with some fascinating choices:  Neflix, go shop for my uniform pants, wash the full size bedding to pack it away.  In some ways, these days carry some anxiety for me.  Time is precious, and I hate to waste it when there’s so much to be done.  Fact is, a lot of what must be done is busy work.  That bag of bedding isn’t going anywhere. I won’t need those pants for a couple more weeks.

What is it that makes some of us feel like every moment must be ‘productive’?  And isn’t it enough to produce calm and restfulness?

Leave a comment